New and Renewed Special Election Periods For Medicare As Of 11/3/22

This is an important announcement for agents with customers in Florida, Illinois, New York, and Texas and for those with business in those states. The counties below are under a state designated SEP due to an emergency.


Declaration information Renewed

State declaration: Wildfires

SEP Incident Date: 03/04/2022 – 01/20/2023

This SEP declaration is effective: 03/04/2022 – 02/28/2023

Impacted counties for SEP purposes: Bay, Calhoun, and Gulf


Declaration information Renewed

State declaration: Monkeypox

SEP Incident Date: 08/01/2022 – 12/25/2022

This SEP declaration is effective: 08/01/2022 – 01/31/2023

Impacted counties for SEP purposes: All


Declaration information New

State declaration: Monkeypox

SEP Incident Date: 07/29/2022 – 11/25/2022

This SEP declaration is effective: 07/29/2022 – 12/31/2022

Impacted counties for SEP purposes: All

Declaration information Renewed

State declaration: Polio

SEP Incident Date: 09/09/2022 – 12/07/2022

This SEP declaration is effective: 09/09/2022 – 01/31/2023

Impacted counties for SEP purposes: All counties


Declaration information Renewed

State declaration: Drought

SEP Incident Date for active counties: 07/08/2022 – Ongoing

SEP Incident Date for counties to be removed: 07/08/2022 – 10/28/2022

This SEP declaration is effective: 07/08/2022 – Ongoing

Active impacted counties for SEP purposes: Andrews, Aransas, Archer, Atascosa, Austin, Bandera, Bastrop, Baylor, Bee, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Borden, Bosque, Brazoria, Brazos, Brewster, Brown, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Callahan, Castro, Childress, Clay, Cooke, Coleman, Collingsworth, Colorado, Comal, Comanche, Concho, Coryell, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Delta, Dickens, Eastland, Erath, Falls, Fayette, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Frio, Gaines, Garza, Gillespie, Glasscock, Gonzales, Grayson, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hale, Hamilton, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Haskell, Hays, Henderson, Hill, Hood, Howard, Hutchinson, Jack, Jones, Kendall, Kent, Kerr, Kimble, King, Kinney, Knox, Lamar, Lampasas, Leon, Limestone, Lipscomb, Llano, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Mason, McCulloch, McLennan, Medina, Menard, Mills, Mitchell, Montague, Montgomery, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Ochiltree, Oldham, Palo Pinto, Parker, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Reagan, Real, Red River, Roberts, Runnels, Schleicher, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Somervell, Stephens, Sterling, Stonewall, Swisher, Taylor, Terry, Tom Green, Travis, Uvalde, Washington, Wichita, Wilbarger, Wilson, Williamson, Yoakum, and Young counties

Counties to be removed effective 11/27/2022: Briscoe, Cameron, Dimmit, Hall, Hidalgo, Maverick, Polk, San Saba, Starr, Willacy, and Zapata counties

IMPORTANT: Please be aware

  • This does not mean that active marketing can occur.
  • The SEP is only for the purpose of providing a SEP to impacted individuals who had a valid election during the incident and were unable to make that election due to the emergency.
  • This does not mean we initiate waiving of authorization or referral requirements.
  • This does not extend waiving of prior authorizations, referrals etc.  

SEP for Government Entity-Declared Disaster or Other Emergency

42 CFR 422.62(b)(18)

(Rev. 2, Issued: August 12, 2020; Effective/Implementation: 01-01-2021)

An SEP exists for individuals affected by a disaster or other emergency declared by a Federal, state or local government entity who were unable to, and did not make an election during another valid election period. This includes both enrollment and disenrollment elections.

Individuals are eligible for this SEP if they: 

  • Reside, or resided at the start of the SEP eligibility period described in this guidance, in an area for which a federal, state or local government entity has declared a disaster or other emergency or they do not reside in an affected area but rely on help making healthcare decisions from one or more individuals who reside in an affected area; and
  • Were eligible for another election period at the time of the SEP eligibility period; and
  • Did not make an election during that other valid election period due to the disaster or other emergency.

The SEP starts as of the date the declaration is made, the incident start date or, if different, the start date identified in the declaration, whichever is earlier. The SEP ends two full calendar months following the end date identified in the declaration or, if different, the date the end of the incident is announced, whichever is later.

If you have any questions, call us today at 866-568-9649!


Main Office:
2401 Sardis Road North, Suite 110
Charlotte, NC 28227

Texas Office:
9441 Lyndon B. Johnson Fwy Suite 512
Dallas, TX 75243

Helping Talented Agents Close More Sales

Follow Us: